Rotorua Lakes Database

The Rotorua Te Arawa Lakes district encompasses 20 lakes, including the 12 major lakes below. The Rotorua Te Arawa Lakes Programme is responsible for protecting and restoring the water quality of the Rotorua lakes. The programme is a partnership with Rotorua Lakes Council, Te Arawa Lakes Trust and Bay of Plenty Regional Council with funding from Ministry for the Environment. The LERNZ research group provides technical expertise, advice in support of restoring the lakes.


A publicly accessible repository supporting the storage and retrieval of water quality and biological data measured in lakes, rivers and wetlands in New Zealand. It is part of the Lake Ecosystem Restoration New Zealand (LERNZ) Project run by the Environmental Research Institute at The University of Waikato.

Real Time Data

Collection of data by telemetry is an effective means for continuous monitoring of environmental changes. We have developed and installed a weather station and lake buoys for monitoring weather and water quality variables.

Waikato Lakes Database

The Waikato Region has a huge number of lakes of all sizes and shapes. Most of the lakes have been degraded due to farming and urban development. Consequently, many lakes are in various stages of restoration. Click on the lake name below to see further information about a particular lake.